About Terceira Island

The Azores

Known for their natural beauty and awarded in categories such as Sustainable Tourism or Adventure Tourism, the 9 islands of the Azores, make up an archipelago of singular beauty, which for centuries has enchanted visitors and passionate residents. Officially the Autonomous Region of the Azores, it is a transcontinental archipelago, volcanic in nature, and an autonomous territory of the Portuguese Republic, located in the Northeast Atlantic, endowed with political and administrative autonomy. From a geographical point of view, the islands are divided into three groups: the western group, consisting of the islands of Corvo and Flores; the central group, formed by the islands of Graciosa, Terceira, São Jorge, Faial and Pico; and the eastern group, materialized by the islands of São Miguel and Santa Maria. Its current population (2021 data) is around 236,657 inhabitants.

Ready for
a unique adventure?

If you are interested in the history, culture and other facts about Terceira Island, here you will find information that can help you learn a little more about.

Do you know that?

Did you know?

Charles Darwin’s passage in Terceira island

* Photograph of Charles Darwin by Maull and Polyblank for the Literary and Scientific Portrait Club Charles Darwin finished his celebrated five-year circumnavigation trip aboard

Did you know?

Holy Spirit Festivities

Bodos do Espírito Santo on Terceira Island are the most traditional of the Azores The Bodo island Terceira island and the Impérios on Pico island dictate the rhythm of